Boxhead Ensemble

Boxhead Ensemble

Also there are session musicians of Boxhead Ensemble: Charles Kim, Darren Richard, David Grubbs, David Michael Curry, David Pavkovic, Douglas McCombs, Edith Frost, Frank Rosaly, Fredrick Lonberg-Holm, Gerald Dowd, Glenn Kotche, Guillermo Gregorio, Jeff Parker, Jeff Tweedy, Jessica Billey, Jim Becker, Jim White (2), Joe Ferguson, Julie Pomerleau, Ken Vandermark, Michael Colligan, Michael Krassner, Mick Turner, Rick Rizzo, Ryan Hembrey, Scott Tuma, Steve Dorocke, Tim Rutili, Will Oldham

Discography of Boxhead Ensemble:

Click to release title to look at track list of the album
# Cover Release title Total tracks Download mp3 album Release date Label fo release
1 Boxhead Ensemble - Two Brothers Two Brothers 9 2001-08-21 Atavistic
2 Boxhead Ensemble - Quartets Quartets 7 2003-10-07 Atavistic
3 Boxhead Ensemble - The Last Place To Go The Last Place To Go 11 1998-10-20 Atavistic
4 Boxhead Ensemble - Niagara Falls EP Niagara Falls EP 7 1999-11-15 Atavistic
5 Boxhead Ensemble - Dutch Harbor: Where The Sea Breaks Its Back Dutch Harbor: Where The Sea Breaks Its Back 12 1997 Atavistic
6 Boxhead Ensemble - The Last Place To Go The Last Place To Go 13 1998
7 Boxhead Ensemble - Stories, Maps And Notes From The Half-Light Stories, Maps And Notes From The Half-Light 8 2001-09-00 Not On Label
Select page:
About Boxhead Ensemble

The first incarnation of the Boxhead Ensemble dates back to 1991 in Los Angeles, where [b]Michael Krassner[/b] assembled a group of local musicians to improvise a score to Braden King and Larry Stuckey's student documentary, The Original Pantry Cafe.

In 1996, Krassner assembled a new incarnation of the Ensemble to score the lyric film documentary by Braden King and Laura Moya, Dutch Harbor: Where the Sea Breaks its Back. Shortly thereafter, the Ensemble embarked on tours with a rotating lineup providing live soundtrack to screenings of Dutch Harbor. Recordings from the European tour are documented on The Last Place To Go and the US tour on Niagra Falls EP. In 2001, Braden King and Astria Suparak co-curated a program of existing and new short films created for the Boxhead Ensemble to perform to and self-released these recordings on the European tour as Stories, Maps and Notes from the Half-Light. The program was also curated in 2004 for a US tour.

Boxhead Ensemble recordings since have been studio affairs. Two Brothers and Quartets consists of members Michael Krassner, Jessica Billey, Ryan Hembrey, Scott Tuma and Fred Lonberg-Holm from previous recordings and includes Glenn Kotche and Michael Colligan. The last album to date retains Michael Krassner and Fred Lonberg-Holm and comprises new members.

Video clips of Boxhead Ensemble:

Watch now Boxhead Ensemble's video clips! Click right here:

Conversations / comments about Boxhead Ensemble